Where We Stand..

letterhead2

      Today i procrastinated a bit… my husband was home sick and spending some quiet time with our toddler just watching cartoons, so i took the opportunity to work on re-painting our living room. I got it about halfway done and felt really proud of myself. Until i realized i was procrastinating to sit down and read my devotional and work on my blog. So i put things away for the day and hopped to it so to speak.

     The devotional for today talked about standing firm in your life. Either it be a Faith thing, work related, home related, friendships, and so on. It made me think of all the times i was wishy washy on where i stood with my faith because i didn’t want to churn the waters and just wanted to keep the peace. It made me think of saying yes to a paint color i really didn’t like just to please my husband and to finally paint….when we are this way it doesn’t turn out well at all! Like with the paint, saying yes to it made me bitter, it wasted money, and it led to arguments and then my husband feeling angry and bitter as well. See… nothing good came out of that…except maybe as an example. Ha!

       Today’s verse is again a short one but i think it’ll be just as good.

verse

“Be on guard. Stand firm in the faith. Be courageous. Be strong.” 1 Corinthians 16:13

      “Be on guard.” I looked up other translations and they had you or your added in to it. It made me think that this isn’t about being on guard for other people but Yourself! When you read it like “Be on YOUR guard”… to me it says that we need to be watching what we are saying, doing, and bringing into our lives. We need to stop a moment and say “this is not healthy for me” or “this is NOT what i believe in and i can not give in to it”.

      “Stand firm in the faith.” This was the almost the same in every translation. I guess no matter how you want to say it it’s that simple. If this is your Faith…then you need to stand firm in it! Don’t be all “well i believe this part of it… but not this part here”.  What does that tell other people? That you don’t trust this thing you believe in. If it was me i wouldn’t want to be a part of something someone isn’t sure they even want to be a part of it.  We need to STAND firm. We have to stand and be sure that this is what we want and model that.

       “Be courageous.”  I think this is telling us to not be afraid again. (like we talked about in the last blog) I could totally see the author standing there like a coach or something saying “Let’s do this! DOn’t be afraid! Fight for that win!” Doesn’t this mean violance? i don’t think so. I think it means that it means standing up and pointing out to a person that what they might be doing is wrong.  Like morally wrong. If you see someone cheating on their marriage, or on a test, or on their taxes. If you see someone physically or verbally abusing someone then lets stand up and be couragous and say “hey! i don’t think that’s right!”

        “Be Strong.”   Could this mean physically? Possibly. But i don’t think that’s what they are going for here. I think they are meaning that we need to be just that…strong but in the spiritual since. We need to work on equipping ourselves for daily onslaughts that might be trying to bring us down. We need to cloth ourselves in that full body spiritual armor. Making sure we are reading His word, understanding it, going to Church, having those close Christian friends that help lift us back up when we feel beat down. It’s making sure we are putting safe and healthy boundaries up for ourselves.  I think this is what it means when it wants us to be “strong”.

     I don’t know about you but i definitely need to work on these areas! Lots of good things to think on and how to put them in place. 🙂

I hope you have enjoyed reading! I’m no professional…but i am a woman just trying to learn more about the Bible and love sharing that with you!

Frog

Leave a Reply

