Paralyzed By Fear..

letterhead2

    Have you ever been paralyzed with fear? I have been..  Many times as a child, as a young adult, and then later on as a mother.  There are so many things that can paralyze us from going forward… as i have gotten older they seem to get worse and actually stick with me. When i was a kid things like this would stop me in the moment but then the next thing you knew i’d be running around again like nothing happened. I guess because i never really sat down and processed them that it’s catching up to me now.

       What are some of the things that can bring us fear?  For myself I listed mine down and I’ll share them with you.

     My Fears

  • the fear of never truly being loved by my husband
  • Never being seen as beautiful by anyone
  • Never being seen as important
  • never being able to driver long distance again
  • that i will never be able to trust my husband to help me no matter what
  • That God truly does not see me as Important.

 

It’s a pretty intense list… at least to me it is. Specially that last one! Here i am…a Christian, I see myself as a daughter of God and I try to follow His commands. But i still don’t feel like He sees me as Important. I know that until i work through this one none of those others will budge. I know that until I get right with God my every day life is going to be a struggle. Because you can’t say that you follow God and still try to do everything on your own. It just turns into a mess that way.

Today’s verse is about God’s promise to be with us….and more. Let’s go….

verse

“Do not be afraid, for I have ransomed you.
    I have called you by name; you are mine.
When you go through deep waters,
    I will be with you.
When you go through rivers of difficulty,
    you will not drown.
When you walk through the fire of oppression,
    you will not be burned up;
    the flames will not consume you.” Isaiah 43:1b-2 NLT

It’s a bit long but I think all of it is important.

“Do not be afraid, for I have ransomed you…”  Whenever I see the words “Do not” in the BIble i see the not in all caps. So in the first part the author is telling us to NOT be afraid. Easier said than done right? Then it goes on to say “for i have ransomed you”. Well who ransomed us? You have to look a little bit further back to the beginning of verse 1 to know that this is the Lord speaking. So the Lord is saying HE has ransomed us…. Ok so ransom means that someone gives money or something else of value to get that person or thing back from someone bad. To me this means God has given someone bad (probably Satan) something of great value to make sure HE got us back. 

“…I have called you by name; you are mine.”  To me that first part means that He has called us out, He knows us, not just knows about us…but He knows us personally and intimately. And that last part…”YOU ARE MINE!!” Said with authority, and probably with love as well. There is no doubt what He is wanting to say here.  

When you go through deep waters,  I will be with you.”  I think this means that we don’t have to worry about having too many demands and pressures of the world. Because He will be with us holding us up. 

When you go through rivers of difficulty, you will not drown.”  To mean this means even when things get rough and overwhelming to us He’ll be there again holding us up and making sure to take on the load Himself as well.

When you walk through the fire of oppression,  you will not be burned up…”  Again He’s saying that no matter how much is weighing you down or trying to consume you it will not effect you because He won’t let it. Don’t you you love how when He wants to make sure you get the point He’ll have the author write them down in threes? All three of those lines are saying the same thing but a little different each time to make sure we are paying attention and knowing that HE will be there for us no matter what!

the flames will not consume you.”  Sums it all up right here. Nothing can consume us….no flames…nor worries… nor fears will touch us as long as we are with HIM each day in prayer, trust, reading the Bible, and even our actions. 

This verse is hard for me… I’ll admit it. It’s hard giving up and letting go of the edge of the pool and swim out knowing someone will be there to grab us and help us if we need it. We want to know, we want to control, and we want a certainty….We can’t have that certainty until we let go of those first two i think and I think i’m going to be working on those from now on.

I hope you enjoyed reading this!

Frog

Leave a Reply

