The Start of Fears…

letterhead2

   Now this isn’t a post about how Fears starts…nope! This is a post about how i received a cool devotional in the mail yesterday that i had forgotten about. It’s a 30 Day Devotional about FEARS! Woohoo! I mean seriously…this is totally for me! It still amazes me that I went from being a woman with no fears about driving, loving it to pieces really, to a woman that can’t drive past her son’s school about 2 miles away without flipping out. It’s a constant heartache and headache for myself and my family.

So this and some other fears spurred me to buy/donate to get this devotional that i saw on the Proverbs 31 Ministeries’ website. After i wrote yesterday’s post, I knew i wanted to keep going forward but i was floundering for what to write about. Nothing seemed to jump out at me or say “write about me” when i read things. I felt like i was forcing it.

Anyways…then the devotional came and i got hit in the head with an idea of taking the main verse for the devotionals and writing or breaking them down so i could better understand them. 🙂  So that is what I am going to do for the next month or so.  Enjoy!

verse

I know how to live on almost nothing or with everything. I have learned the secret of living in every situation, whether it is with a full stomach or empty, with plenty or little. 13 For I can do everything through Christ, who gives me strength.” Phillipians 4:12-13

Let’s see…

I know how to live on almost nothing or with everything…”  To me the word “live” is said with an exclamation mark. “I know how to LIVE!” It’s like the author is saying he has found the secret to life… how to make it wonderful no matter what. So you already get a glimpse of what this verse is all about. Then it talk about “on almost nothing”, so this is talking about not having anything, being poor or destitute. To me i think this is telling us that the author understands these problems and is telling us “save it, I’ve been there and experienced that…you can’t tell me that i don’t understand, because i DO”. In other words…Leave your excuses at the door. Ha! 

But then he mentions “or with everything”. So is he trying to say that having everything is not all that it’s cracked up to be? Is he saying that we don’t know how to live when we don’t have to worry? I kinda think he means both of those. There’s that silly saying “More Money, More problems” and i think that fits here….I’ve never seen a truly happy rich person. Have you? If you have please tell me… i’d love to meet them and ask them questions. But i digress, we have two opposite ways of living and the author states he knows how to LIVE (probably meaning how to be thankful) in both of these situations.

I have learned the secret of living in every situation, whether it is with a full stomach or empty, with plenty or little.”  Well here he is stating with authority that, yes he does know exactly what to do. But look closely, he doesn’t say he KNOWS, nope he says “i have LEARNED”. To me this means that there was probably a lot of trial and error… probably emphasize that error part. I love how he puts “the secret of living”. I think it’s his way of making us lean in and make sure we don’t miss this next part. 

For I can do everything through Christ, who gives me strength.”   Well there you go. Right there in black and white is the secret to living. Take a look at the word “through” … he doesn’t say with…but THROUGH Christ. To me, I think this means that as long as we go to God first and don’t expect our way to be done that He will be there and help us. But only if we seek Him and petition HIM before each day. I think it also means we may not always like the answer either…He may tell us to wait or that awful “NO” word….But even if that is the case He’s still going to give us that peace to keep going. 

That last part just helps confirm that. “who gives me STRENGTH”…No matter what, an anxiety attack on the highway, or a lost spouse or child or friend, or a marriage falling a part, or an abusive situation, or just a bad day at work…. NO MATTER WHAT!! He will give us the strength to deal with, to get away from, or to grieve the loss. He’ll be right there shouldering our fears and our pain. He’ll be there even when things are going right..to enjoy and celebrate those as well.

I don’t know about you but reading that and understanding that makes me feel a hundred times better and all warm and gooey inside….like smores….mmmm.  God’s promises are like Smores. I think i might copyright that and slap it on a t-shirt to wear every day! LOL!

 

Hope you enjoyed this!

Frog

Leave a Reply

