The Sickies…Plus the new beginning

    letterhead2

    The allergy season is always hard on our household. My husband and middle child are in a constant allergy med haze, my oldest and I tend to not show signs until it is too late and we have a respiratory infection, and then our youngest goes from allergies to teething fun every few days.  As a mom you sometimes have these thoughts of  “Man, I should buy stock in cough medicine (or allergy)”. During this season i think this often, just a fun little thought of “buy right before allergy season and then sell right after…we’d be set!” Ha Ha!

work

     All this to say that this morning’s goal of waking up and starting into my new routine got sidelined a bit due to oldest staying home sick and the youngest not feeling well so he was up and being a normal toddler (think key word is destructive). I often describe cleaning with M awake like “Brushing your teeth while eating oreos”, in other words…pointless. LOL!  When he’s not feeling well it is a lot worse. S seriously praying this passes quickly and he’s back to his happy fun self again soon.

verse

  Ok enough of that, let’s begin! The verses for today are Ephesians 1:18-19, I use the NLT version so i’ll put that here.

18 I pray that your hearts will be flooded with light so that you can understand the confident hope he has given to those he called—his holy people who are his rich and glorious inheritance.[g]

19 I also pray that you will understand the incredible greatness of God’s power for us who believe him.”

So going through this phrase by phrase and seeing how it applies to us and what it could mean more deeply.

“I pray your hearts will be flooded with light…”

Though i prefer to read for myself the New Living Translation, it is nice to go to the NIV version and see how it is worded there so i don’t miss something. It reads “I pray that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened”.  Ok wow. So light and enlightened are meaning the same for me here (wisdom, knowledge, understanding). But look at the NIV version. It has “eyes of your heart”, this makes me go huh, my heart doesn’t have eyes, so what could he be really meaning. I think here he is meaning the desires of our hearts be opened to the Lords wisdom and understanding. Our understanding is so limited with our human brains that we want and need to allow God’s understanding to come into our hearts so that we are more open minded and understanding to the things around us. (remember this is just me trying to understand…there is no right answer here)

In the very next words “…so that you can understand the confident hope…” gives me an AHA! moment. Ok so light could also re a reference to what kind of understanding, meaning we don’t want just any old kind of knowledge…but GOOD, PURE, RIGHT understanding. THen if we have that then we can understand “Confident Hope”.  Confident, well some other words to mean that is “positive”, “self-assured”, “assertive”, etc.  To be confident it means you know you have it. Ok so if we look at it this way ” I pray that your heart has good open minded understanding so that you know that you have Hope” wow. Reading it that way makes me feel so much better! i KNOW i have Hope. Awesome!

“…he has given to those he called..” Now with this added to it it now shows to me that i can’t have this understanding unless HE has given it to me. Without HIS understanding we can not be confident in having Hope. Oh that makes me a little sad. If this had been my teenage self reading this i would’ve felt defeated, knowing i could not do it myself, i would need to lean on HIM for this. I was a strong willed, independent little girl…hearing i needed to wait and relay on someone else would’ve rubbed me the wrong way! So good thing i didn’t hear it till now! Now this gives me joy, knowing i DON’T have to do this alone. There is someone waiting to have my back and to help me. Again…wow! Love this!

 

“…his holy people who are his rich and glorious inheritance.”  Oh now that is awesome. So if we are his children…we are his rich and glorious inheritance…oh that is so sweet! To me this means that this understanding can not be taken away…it’s set.  The only way i could get rid of this is if i myself set this off to the side and tell him “i don’t need you, i can do it myself” That makes me feel safe and secure in this knowledge. What about you?

Ok last verse. Let’s do this and then I’ll write out all together what i think it means and how it’s special to me.

I also pray that you will understand the incredible greatness of God’s power for us who believe him.”  This feels like a complete thought or phrase so lets go back to the NIV version and see if it’s a little different. “and his incomparably great power for us who believe.”   A little less wordy and seems to sum it up nicely! SO here we can also understand and KNOW that we can have great power through HIM for those of us that can be called His Children. So not only will we get his knowledge but also his power to help us through our daily lives so long as we stay with him and allow Him into our hearts.

What a great and wonderful promise! To apply this to my life I’m hoping to dig deeper into His Word every day i can so that i can find and apply more of these promises!  We’ll see what new verses i find in my reading later today that i can post for tomorrow.

 

Hope you enjoyed this! If not please feel free to tell me how it can be better. (unless you’re just going to be rude…then please feel free to practice the “if you have nothing nice to say, don’t say anything at all” rule.)

Frog

3 thoughts on “The Sickies…Plus the new beginning

  1. astria3 April 5, 2016 / 9:14 pm

    Glory To God!🌹🌹🌹🌹
    Your such a motivation to me!
    You have touched my heart in ways that can’t be described. The number one word to sum things IS 😇HOPE.
    I don’t believe God sent me your way just because. Everything happens for a reason. Thank you sister & sweet woman of God! Bless You!🌹

    Like

    • monie127 April 5, 2016 / 9:57 pm

      Thank you so much for such a sweet comment and all the likes! It makes me very happy that my rambles could touch someone and make their day. I know this did for me 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

