A Different Calling?

Blog Logo

   As some of you have read I’m a Christian… I try not to be an in your face kinda Christian so if you’re not up to reading about some thoughts on my Faith then read no futher. But if you’re interested here are some thoughts i had this weekend.

   A couple years ago my Life Group (Sunday School Class) did this survey/quiz type thing to see where you might be called or desire to serve. Now When I did mine i wasn’t shocked, it told me something that i always want to do and that was to be part of Hospitality. So i was thrilled!

   But as i tried out things in this area i found i forgot to do the tasks needed. So i thought that maybe being Hospitable in Church wasn’t my thing maybe i should do it in my home!

Now so that people reading this don’t go “oh she’s harping about yesterday” nope… this is something i wanted to writ about last week and didn’t get a chance. 

  Now I have tried doing get togethers and birthday parties in my home. But i seem to always forget one or two things that are vital. I’ll also forget to mingle with everyone….or my talking etiquette goes out the door. I’m from the North…we say what we mean and don’t mess around, unfortunately I’m now in the South and that doesn’t seem to fit a lot of people there. 😦 OOPS! On top of all of this i just can’t seem to pick good days…i pick saturday and that’s a conflict for 85% of people….i pick sunday same… friday…same. And on it goes.

   Now as i was contemplating this this last week I thought “Oh man, I just can’t seem to get this right! I thought i was called to do this!” I was growing more frustrated and angry and well bitter. But then yesterday I saw a quote from a lady i follow on Facebook and it remembered me about how i was reacting. And then another thoughts struck me. Maybe I need to rethink my “Calling” and look more at what i’m passionate about. Now I’m passionate about many things, like Art…I love Art! But i’m not good at it. I’m passionate about Reading and books, i thought about writing a book and even started to, but then i realized i kinda stink at that too. I used to write Poetry all the time and people did think it was good! But time moved on and it just seemed like i no longer had anything to write about.  Then thought working with kids would work…after a while i realized i was being used in that area and also using it to escape being in fellowship with God. OOPS!!

   So what is my calling? I’m not sure. With trying to move and also starting a business we’ll see where God wants me to be and if he wants me to be doing this business as well. This morning though i realized that when we went to see a finanical person that he said “if you ever start a business up give me a call and i can help you with the taxes on that.” and now barely a year later i’m doing just that…. is this what i’m supposed to be doing or is it just a step in the right direction? We’ll see!

And you know what? think i’ll take that quiz again…. maybe it’l shed new light on what i’m thinking…. Callings change… people change… and I think in the past 3 years i’ve changed a lot and some not for the good… It’ll get figured out eventually.

Leave a Reply

